Series: Robert Langdon #4

Author: Dan Brown

Inferno (Robert Langdon, #4)

Book Blurb:

‘Seek and ye shall find.’

With these words echoing in his head, eminent Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon awakes in a hospital bed with no recollection of where he is or how he got there. Nor can he explain the origin of the macabre object that is found hidden in his belongings.

A threat to his life will propel him and a young doctor, Sienna Brooks, into a breakneck chase across the city of Florence. Only Langdon’s knowledge of hidden passageways and ancient secrets that lie behind its historic facade can save them from the clutches of their unknown pursuers.

With only a few lines from Dante’s dark and epic masterpiece, The Inferno, to guide them, they must decipher a sequence of codes buried deep within some of the most celebrated artefacts of the Renaissance – sculptures, paintings, buildings – to find the answers to a puzzle which may, or may not, help them save the world from a terrifying threat…

Set against an extraordinary landscape inspired by one of history’s most ominous literary classics, Inferno is Dan Brown’s most compelling and thought-provoking novel yet, a breathless race-against-time thriller that will grab you from page one and not let you go until you close the book.

My Review:

The fourth book in the Robert Langdon series….and it does not disappoint!

For those of you who have never picked up a Dan Brown book before, worry not, while these books are a part of a series, it is not necessary to read them in order. It would be better to do so…but not altogether necessary.

While Inferno is no Angles and Demons, it was a really great read. And like any other book of this series…it really really really REALLY makes one want need to go to Italy.. While I have been to all these places mentioned in the books, but the facts that are presented in these books, makes me mentally kick myself for not knowing all this before…and I want to go back and see it with all these awesome facts in mind.

Inferno has it’s base in Dante’s Divine Comedy. Which provided quite an interesting and fresh backdrop. We learn more about the divine comedy, as we read Inferno.

Like the previous book in the series, the sequence of events in this book also remains the same. Some one dies, Robert Langdon is called.The difference in this book is that while death does happen, and Robert Langdon is called…the book starts with Langdon in a strange place, in the middle, with no idea how and why he got there..and then the whole race against time situation arises. But, personally, the end of Inferno satisfied me more than any other book of the series. It has this logical and more realistic ending than the others.

If you have read any other Dan Brown books, or you enjoy fiction with won’t be disappointing.

Also, while I was disappointed with the previous movies of this franchise, I am quite looking forward to this movie, which is going to be released in 2016, simply because it has Irrfan Khan. An excellent actor who chooses excellent roles. I look forward to his portrayal of Provost.