Author: Amish

Scion of Ikshvaku (Ram Chandra Series, #1)

Book Blurb:

Ram Rajya. The Perfect Land. But perfection has a price. He paid that price.

Ayodhya is weakened by divisions. A terrible war has taken its toll. The damage runs deep. The demon King of Lanka, Raavan, does not impose his rule on the defeated. He, instead, imposes his trade. Money is sucked out of the empire. The Sapt Sindhu people descend into poverty, despondency and corruption. They cry for a leader to lead them out of the morass. Little do they appreciate that the leader is among them. One whom they know. A tortured and ostracised prince. A prince they tried to break. A prince called Ram.

He loves his country, even when his countrymen torment him. He stands alone for the law. His band of brothers, his Sita, and he, against the darkness of chaos.

Will Ram rise above the taint that others heap on him? Will his love for Sita sustain him through his struggle? Will he defeat the demon Lord Raavan who destroyed his childhood? Will he fulfil the destiny of the Vishnu?

Begin an epic journey with Amish’s latest: the Ram Chandra Series.

My Review:

I love the way Amish writes.

When I started reading this book, I was quite skeptical, since I personally do not tend to like any work that is based on this epic as I tend to have some major issues with the characterizations and story line. Which I have stated in previous posts like “Where Rama and Sita Really an Ideal Couple?.

But Amish managed to twist the original story line in a way that most, not all, but most, of the issues that I have with the original story line were addressed in a rational way.

I like the way Amish has written the female characters. Sita’s characterization is the best in this book. She is feisty, warrior, smart woman who has her own belief system and can stand on her own two feet. LOVED IT. Such a refreshing view. I guess that was the major reason I will be most definately waiting for the next instalment of this story.

Although, if we look at the time line, the Ram Changra Series occur before the Shiva series (Click here for book Review), I would suggest you to read the Shiva series before the Ram Chandra ones.